All posts by AlanF

Retired Computer Design Engineer. Main hobby photography. Moved to live in York in November 2010 to be near family.

Fishergate Postern Tower 2015 open days

Fishergate Postern Tower will be open by Friends of York Walls Volunteers on the following 2015 dates, from 10am to 4pm.
Sat 31st Jan & Sun 1st Feb                            York Residents Weekend
Sat 21st & Sun 22nd Feb                                 York Viking Festival
Sat 3rd, Sun 4th & Mon 5th April               Easter Weekend
Sat 2nd, Sun 3rd & Mon 4th May               May Day BH
Sat 23rd, Sun 24th & Mon 25th  May      Late Spring BH
Sat 13th, Sun 14th June                                   York Ideas Festival
Sat 20th , Sun 21st June                                  York Ideas Festival
Sat 18th & Sun 19th July                                 Start School Summer Hols
Sat 29th Sun 30th & Mon 31st August   Late Summer BH
Sat 12th & Sun 13th September                  Heritage Open Weekend
Sat 31st Oct  & Sun 1st Nov                           Autumn School HolsNOTE – opening on all three days of the bank holiday weekends is to be confirmed, subject to volunteer numbers. If you would like to help us, as a volunteer, please email friendsofyorkwalls@gmail.com )

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Share

Seasons Greetings from FoYW

FPT North Wall stone labels 17112014The Friends of York Walls wish “Seasons Greetings” to all our Members, Volunteers, Friends and Supporters.

Why not give someone in your life a Unique Christmas Gift and help the Friends of York Walls to raise funds to promote York’s City Walls and to refurbish and open Fishergate Postern Tower.

You can now on-line  Sponsor a Stone for £20 (or more) on the new North Wall  or the existing West Wall.  Ideal as a gift for someone, or for a significant event or person in your life. The scheme can be used to observe a special occasion such as a birthday, a christening, a wedding, as a memorial or simply just to convey a message.

Don’t forget also our book published earlier in 2014 – “A Walking Guide to York’s City Walls”  by Simon Mattam would make an ideal Christmas present. Available at local York outlets + online suppliers. ISBN 9 780092 900205

 

Share